About Kautilya

India is at an inflection point. Since independence, we’ve put in the hard yards. We’ve established the world’s largest democracy. We’ve created global businesses. We’ve bred visionaries who’ve shaped economies, ideologies, and institutions. We’ve established a soft power that makes the world look at us with admiration. And with 90% of our population being under 60 years of age, we’re entering a phase of rapid economic growth.


If there’s one word that well and truly defines India today, it is ‘potential’.


Yet, the fact remains that development has not been sustainable and inclusive. Several sections of society do not have access to basic human rights. Development is often haphazard and short-sighted. Ignoring issues such as these puts at risk the potential upside of India’s demographic dividend.

Building a new India will require passion, long-term commitment and, most importantly, a pool of public policy professionals formally trained in evidence-based policy making, implementation and leadership – which is precisely what we, at Kautilya School of Public Policy, aim to do.


Kautilya’s vision (“Rebalance the role of Society, Government and Business towards an equitable and regenerative India and world”) and mission (“Empowering leaders who solve our 21st century problems, through rigorous public policy education”) encapsulate our focus on imparting education that is relevant, contemporary, and practical. We offer passionate young minds a robust training ground that nurtures grassroots aspirations with a rigorous academic program. We have brought on board some of the world’s leading academic experts and policy practitioners to prepare students for a transformed path in nation-building, by inculcating diverse skills necessary for a successful career in public life.

Founding Team

M. Sri Bharat

President of GITAM

Prateek Kanwal

Co-Founder, Kautilya School of Public Policy

Sridhar Pabbisetty

Founding Director, Kautilya School of Public Policy


Syed Akbaruddin

Retired IFS officer,
Fmr. Permanent Rep. of India to the UN

Email: dean@kautilya.org.in


Advisory Board

Rathin Roy

Managing Director, Research and Policy, ODI

Steve Jarding

Former Professor, Harvard Kennedy School

Dilip Cherian

Political Campaign Advisor Communications Consultant

Ram Mohan Naidu

Member of Parliament, 17th Lok Sabha

Priyanka Chaturvedi

Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha

Anil Swarup

Author, Retired IAS Officer

M. V. Rajeev Gowda

Former Member of Parliament; Chairman, Congress Research Department


Moshik Temkin

Fellow at The Belfer Center for Science and Intl. Affairs, Harvard Kennedy School


Dr. Menaka Guruswamy

Senior Advocate,
Supreme Court of India

Our Team

Azmathullah Mohammed

Operations Manager

Vivek Bhargav Oruganti

Research Associate


Srishhti Sinha

Research Associate