

Annual Report of the Internal Complaints Committee for the Academic Year 2022-23 26th

July 2023

Introduction: A decision to constitute a Internal Complaints Committee for Kautilya School of Public Policy, GITAM (deemed to be a university) was taken in the Academic Meeting on 22nd Internal Complaints Committee September 2022. The Committee Against Sexual Harassment (ICC) of Kautilya School of Public Policy, GITAM (deemed to be a university) came into being on 18th October 2022.

The responsibilities of the ICC are to sensitise KSPP on issues of sexual harassment and to redress complaints of sexual harassment as and when they arise.

This annual report is presented to the Dean as per the KSPP Policy on Sexual Harassment.

Composition

The composition of the ICC at the end of the academic year 2022-23 is as follows:

- Prof. Vasudha Katju
- Prof. Amrendra Pandey
- Ms. Neelam Mehra
- Ms. Arushi Jha
- Ms. Aishwarya Bansal
- Dr. Prageetha Raju

Additionally, the following were members of ICC but are no longer members, as they have left GITAM/KSPP:

- Prof. Snigdha Roy
- Ms. Sudipta Shaw
- Ms. Yashi Mishra
- Ms. Anjali Sreeram

The activities of the ICC for the academic year 2022-23 are as follows:

1.) Formulation of the KSPP Policy on Sexual Harassment: The KSPP Policy on Sexual Harassment has been drafted keeping in mind the guidelines presented by the UGC in 'Saksham: Measures for Ensuring the Safety of Women and Programmes for Gender Sensitization on Campuses'. The draft report was further circulated to all staff and students of KSPP for comments and suggestions. The final draft of the Policy was presented to the Dean, KSPP on 14th March 2023. It was approved by the Dean on 14 March 2023.

- 2.) Publicity of the Policy on Sexual Harassment: The policy has been displayed on notice boards in the KSPP premises, Block C of the GITAM hostel, and the Stilt Canteen. It has also been uploaded to the KSPP website and has been included in the Student Handbook for the batch of 23-25. It policy has also been circulated to staff and students of KSPP via email.
- 3.) Creation of the ICC email address (icc@kautilya.org.in)
- 4.) Election of student representatives to ICC: elections for a student representative from the MPP first-year batch weas conducted on 11th November 2022. Ms. Aishwarya Bansal was elected. Ms. Anjali Sreeram was the only nominee from the second-year batch and therefore polling did not take place for the post.
- 5.) Sensitisation Programmes: A sensitisation programme on the KSPP Policy on Sexual Harassment was held on 28th April. KSPP staff, students, and Block C residents were invited to attend.
- 6.) ICC meetings took place on the following dates:
 - 11th January 2023
 - Members present: Dr. Prageetha Raju, Ms. Neelam Mehra, Prof. Snigdha Roy, Ms. Anjali
 Sreeram, Dr. Vasudha Katju
 - 11th April 2023
 - o Members present: Dr. Amrendra Pandey, Prof. Snigdha Roy, Dr. Vasudha Katju, Ms. Neelam Mehra, Ms. Yashi Mishra, Ms. Aishwarya Bansal, Ms. Anjali Sreeram

Complaints: No complaints of sexual harassment have been received in the academic year 2022-23.

Contact - icc@kautilya.org.in